Cymraeg |  BSL | Jump to content |  Text Only |  Change font size  A A A
Page last updated on 15/6/2012
Council, Executive Board and Committees 


This section provides a brief description on how the Council’s decision making structure operates.

In order to assist in the decision making process the Council delegates some of its decision making to the Executive Board and Committees

Comprises 74 Elected councillors and meets monthly
• Agrees budget
• Agrees corporate policy framework
• Decides political management framework
• Appoints Leader & Deputy Leader
• Appoints Chief Executive
• All other identified non-executive functions

Comprises 10 councillors including the Leader & Two Deputy Leaders and normally meets every 2 weeks
• Executive Board Members appointed by the Leader
• Implements Council policies under the political guidance of the Leader.
• Takes delegated executive decisions in accordance with Council Policy & budget
• Recommends amendments to existing policies and new policies for the Council’s consideration and decision

Executive Board Members and their portfolios

With the exception of Executive Board Members all other councillors (65) have the opportunity to be appointed by Council to serve on a scrutiny Committee,
There are fived themed Scrutiny Committees:
• Community
• Education & Children
• Environmental & Public Protection 
• Social Care & Health
• Policy & Resources

The committees normally meet on a 6 weekly basis and their main roles and responsibilities are:
• To examine how well the Executive and/or Authority is performing in delivering its key aims and objectives
• To ensure that the Executive is publicly held to account and seeks to promote open and transparent decision making and democratic accountability
• To contribute to the development, monitoring and review of Council policies
• To allow for the participation of external organisations and partners in consideration of issues that may impact upon the delivery of council services

All 74 councillors have the opportunity to be appointed by Council to serve as members of these Committees.

Comprises 18 councillors and normally meets on a 4 weekly basis
Main responsibilities are:
Town and country planning and development control
Public Rights of Way
Non-executive highways functions
Functions relating to trees, hedgerows and pavements

Further information in respect of planning applications and associated protocols.

Comprises 15 councillors and normally meets on a 6 weekly basis
Main responsibilities are:
To determine applications for the initial granting or renewal of licences to drive a hackney carriage or a private hire vehicle. 
To determine applications for the initial grant or renewal of operators licences.
To determine applications and requests for licence reviews under the Licensing Act 2003 and the Gambling Act 2005.
To determine applications for permits for house to house and street collections.


All 74 members have the opportunity to be appointed by Council to serve as members of these Committees

Main responsibilities are:
To shortlist, interview and appoint applicants for the posts of Directors and Heads of Service

Main responsibilities are:
Exercises a key oversight role in relation to the Authority’s approach to Corporate Governance, in particular, those aspects relating to Internal Control and Risk Management.
Approve the Authority’s Audit Charter which establishes the role and responsibilities of Internal Audit within the Authority.
Receive an Annual Internal Audit Plan and monitor progress against the Plan
Receive an Annual Internal Audit Report
Receive and consider major Internal Audit findings and recommendations.
Monitor the adequacy and effectiveness of the External Audit service and respond to its findings

Main responsibilities are:
To determine appeals by members of staff in respect of disciplinary matters which have led to dismissal, save for any dismissal relating to the Chief Executive, any Director or Head of Service.
To determine Education School Transport appeals
To determine Appeals relating to student awards. 

Democratic Services                                                             Main responsibilities are:
To exercise the function of the local authority under section 8(1)(a) of the LG (Wales) Measure 2011 (designation of Head of Democratic Services),
To review the adequacy of provision by the authority of staff, accommodation and other resources to discharge democratic services functions, and
To make reports and recommendations to the authority at least annually in relation to such provision.

Under the provisions of the Local Government Act 2000, the Council is required to establish a Standards Committee to promote high standards of conduct for officers and Councillors.  The majority of members sitting on the committee at any one time must be in the favour of the Independent Appointed Members.
Main responsibilities are:
To promote and maintain high standards of conduct by councillors, co-opted members
To advise the Council on the adoption or revision of the Members’ Code of Conduct
To monitor the operation of the Members’ Code of Conduct
To grant dispensations to councillors and co-opted members where the councillor or co-opted member has a personal and prejudicial interest under the Members’ Code of Conduct, subject to legal requirements.
To receive annual reports on the operation of the Council’s complaints procedure and the whistle-blowing policy with a view to incorporating references to those matters in the Committee’s Annual Report to Council.

Members’ Appointments
Main responsibilities are:
To appoint members to serve on outside bodies