Find out more about Carmarthenshire’s past in the county museum. A range of fascinating artefacts from mammoth bones and Roman gold are on show along with treasures like Welsh dressers and paintings portraying the county over the years.
The building was once the palace of the Bishops of St. David's (1542 - 1974) and it was here that the New Testament was first translated into Welsh in 1567. Visitors can still see the tranquil, private chapel used by the bishops.
The museum contains something to excite everyone. Visits are free, and along with the varied collections on show, people can enjoy special activities or a cup of coffee in historical surroundings. Families can take a stroll around the museum’s park with spectacular views of the Tywi Valley and Merlin’s Hill, enjoy a picnic or buy souvenirs in the shop.
Museum facilities include:
• Car park
• Disabled parking
• Disabled access
• Hearing loop
• Family discovery room
• Baby changing
• Guide dogs allowed
• Walks and picnic sites
Open all year (closed over the Christmas period)
Tues - Sat: 10am - 4.30pm
Closed: 25.12 - 27.12.2013
Open: Saturday 28.12.2013
Closed: 29.12.2013 - 01.01.2014
Abergwili is best reached from Carmarthen or Llandeilo
by bus services 279 and 280/281.
The 277, 282 and 283 buses run through Abergwili also.
Where we are: